Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



The Berlin shadow : living with the ghosts of the Kindertransport / Jonathan Lichtenstein.

Available copies

  • 0 of 1 copy available at Easton Public Library System.
  • 0 of 2 copies available at Lehigh Valley Library System.

Current holds

0 current holds with 2 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Easton Main Library 940.53 L699b (Text) 31901004477792 New Adult Non-Fiction Checked Out 03/20/2021

Record details

  • ISBN: 031654101X
  • ISBN: 9780316541015
  • Physical Description: 311 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
  • Edition: First North American edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Little, Brown Spark, 2020.

Content descriptions

General Note:
Originally published in the United Kingdom by Scribner UK, August 2020.
Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references.
Summary, etc.:
"In 1939, Jonathan Lichtenstein's father Hans escaped Nazi-occupied Berlin as a child refugee on the Kindertransport. Almost every member of his family died after Kristallnacht, and, arriving in England to make his way in the world alone, Hans turned his back on his German Jewish culture. Growing up in post-war rural Wales where the conflict was never spoken of, Jonathan and his siblings were at a loss to understand their father's relentless drive and sometimes eccentric behaviour. As Hans enters old age, he and Jonathan set out to retrace his journey back to Berlin. Published to coincide with the eightieth anniversary, this is a highly compelling account of a father and son's attempt to emerge from the shadows of history. For readers who enjoyed East West Street, The Berlin Shadow is a beautiful memoir about time, trauma and family."--Amazon.
Subject: Lichtenstein, Jonathan > Childhood and youth.
Lichtenstein, Jonathan > Family.
Lichtenstein, Hans.
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945)
Holocaust, Jewish (1939-1945) > Influence.
Jewish refugees > Great Britain > History > 20th century.
Refugee children > Great Britain > History > 20th century.
Kindertransports (Rescue operations)
World War, 1939-1945 > Children > Germany.
Fathers and sons > Great Britain > Biography.

Additional Resources